What’s Cooking: Vegan Pudding Shots

I didn’t think this Easter tradition would survive when I shifted to a vegan diet. But, thanks to some google research and a few favorite vegan blogs, I was able to make it happen–just like old times, only better.

The process takes longer because you have to veganize the Irish cream and the cool whip, but the end result is so delicious. I suggest you try it right away.

I didn’t have any little shots glasses, so I went with a pudding cup instead. I considered it a double. :)

Shopping List

For the Irish Cream:
1 can of full fat coconut milk
1 can of light coconut milk
1/4 brown sugar
3/4 cup strong coffee
3/4 cup Jameson Irish whiskey
pinch of salt

For the cool whip:
1 can of full fat coconut milk
1/4 cup of powdered sugar

For the pudding:
1 small package of instant chocolate pudding
3/4 cup of rice milk (or any other non-dairy milk)
1/4 cup of vodka
1/2 cup of Irish cream
cool whip

Step by Step

This recipe takes two days to do right. I know, I don’t like to wait either. But believe me, it’s so worth it.

Day One: Make the Irish cream and the cool whip.

To make the Irish cream, I followed this recipe. Essentially, you need just add the coconut milk (one full fat and one light) and the brown sugar in a pot on the stove. Keep at a medium heat and stir until your arm wants to fall off (or until it’s been at a low boil for 8-10 minutes). Remove it from heat and stir in the coffee. And then the Jameson. And then throw in the pinch of salt. Stir it up real nice and then either wait for it to cool before tasting or pour it over a big glass of ice to consume right away. Make sure you save at least a 1/2 cup for the pudding shots.

To make the cool whip, I followed this super easy, yet super amazing, recipe. All you have to do it open a can of full fat coconut milk (without shaking it) and gently pour it into a bowl. Cover and refrigerate overnight. It should get really, really thick (like cool whip). The next day, whisk in the powdered sugar (or any sweetener) to taste. Ta-da! Now you have delicious cool whip.

Day Two: Put it all together.

Once all your ingredients are ready to go, the pudding shots are simple. Toss the instant pudding, milk, vodka and Irish cream into a big bowl and stir until well combined. And then fold in the cool whip. That’s it. Eat as is or freeze for a tasty frozen treat. My Aunt thinks it tastes like German chocolate cake. I think it tastes like heaven. Go make some and decide for yourself.

Happy Easter,

A

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 127 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 127 other followers

