Farewell 4313 4th Ave

Tonight is my last night in Seattle and I thought it only fair to give this house a proper good-bye blog post.

I have never lived in house that had so many things go wrong in just 1 year (roughly in the order I remember it all happening): leaking roof, broken dryer, serious bathroom mold, broken thermostat, water gushing from pipes, broken oven, no fridge light (but the freezer was fine and we tried changing the bulb), leaking water heater. These things, and the untimely attention from the Landlord, I will not miss.

I also will never miss the wanna-be rockstar upstairs neighborhoods who moved a drum set into our garage, played guitar at all times of the day and night and had the worse singing voice I’ve ever had the misfortune to hear repeatedly.

But it wasn’t all terrible.

I will miss the convenience of having a bar with a great happy hour just around the corner. I’ll miss the sundry restaurants within walking distance to chose from. I’ll miss the differing atmosphere’s of Seattle’s neighborhoods. I’ll miss my proximity to bodies of water and the beauty of the city.

Even more, I’ll miss having Doug and Megan so very close. I love them both dearly and I am still devising a plan to kidnap them both and make them come with me to Connecticut.

And of course, I’ll miss my roomies. Chris and I have been great friends for many years, and while living with him added new challenges to our friendship, we shared some very fun memories in Seattle. And Rebecca. Well, I miss her already. We’ve been best friends since middle school and lived together for four years  in Bellingham prior to our adventure in Seattle. I know these two will remain close friends, but I will miss seeing their faces on a regular basis.

But if I can be completely truthful, what I’ll miss the most is my independence. I promised myself when I moved out at 18 that I would do everything in my power not to move back in with  my parents. Not because they’re awful, but because I wanted to do it on my own. And for the upcoming months, I’m dependent on others to house me. Don’t get me wrong, I love the family that I am staying with and I am so so grateful that they are opening their homes to me. But it feels like I’m taking a big step backwards before I start taking even the tiniest steps forward. I just need to cherish the time I have with my dad, and then with my aunt, and remember that it’s temporary.

So…

To my house, so long.

To my friends, see you soon.

To my family, thank-you.

And to my future, nice to meet you.

2 responses to “Farewell 4313 4th Ave

  1. Arikka, I am loving reading your blog. Can’t wait to keep up with your new adventure.

  2. arikkahall

    Hi Autumn,
    Thanks- it’s good to hear from you. I’ve been reading your baby adventures for months now so I’m glad I have some entertainment to offer in return.

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 147 other followers

