What’s Cooking Wednesday: Fajitas

I identify as a bit of foodie. To indulge that passion, I’m going to share some of my culinary attempts here on my blog. Since I’m a vegetarian, you won’t find any meat, poultry, seafood or gelatin in any of my meals, but don’t let that stop you from giving them a try (you can always add animal protein if you absolutely can’t live without it).

So without further introduction…  Here’s installment 1 of What’s Cooking Wednesday:

Fajitas!

Derek and I make fajitas often, probably once or twice a month. They’re delicious, easy and filling. We use a meat alternative instead of chicken. In Washington it was usually a soy product from Morningstar Farms. Tonight we tried a mycoprotein (comes from fungi) made by Quorn. Both good- I actually couldn’t taste a difference.

Start by warming some oil in a pan and then tossing in some fake chicken. I think it tastes better if you add some fajita seasoning (we buy a little packet and use it for two or three meals). But we forgot to pick some up so we improvised with chipotle tabasco, water and a little salsa.

Slice a couple peppers- green, red, orange, yellow, what you feel like- and add them to the pan after a few minutes.

(For a two person serving I recommend one and a half peppers and half the bag of chicken substitute)

Cook til everything is warm and the peppers are soft.

Layer on a tortilla with sour cream, cheese and salsa if you like.

Eat and be amazed at how quickly you made this tasty dish.

Fajita Night can be made even more enjoyable if a delicious dessert follows the meal:

2 responses to “What’s Cooking Wednesday: Fajitas

  1. Erin

    “I identify as a bit of a foodie.” This makes me smile, considering at one point you claimed to not really like to eat that much, and wanted to invent the magic food pill. 🙂 I’m glad you’re going to do a weekly food post. Love you muchisimo!

    • arikkahall

      I guess my opinion of food has changed dramatically. 🙂 Although I still think that pill could make a fortune. Love you too!

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 146 other followers

