Homeward Bound

The balloon landed. The filming is over. And I’m on my way back home.

The pilots landed Calvin around 7am this morning in a cut corn field outside Wichita, KS. It was a safe and smooth landing. We were even lucky enough to be present when they touched ground- apparently a very rare occurrence in gas ballooning. After packing up the balloon and finishing our interviews, Katie booked me a flight out of Kansas City, MO so I could get home tonight. I’ll land in Boston around 11:30 and be home a couple hours later. Things I want to do as soon as I’m done traveling:

-shower (filming the landing required tromping through damp corn stocks and sitting in a dirt field)

-eat (haven’t had a decent meal, or even much food at all, since dinner last night)

-sleep for days (since Thursday night I have slept roughly 7 hours- 2 hour and half sleeps throughout Friday night and about 4 hours on Saturday)

-not drive (drove about 15 or 16 hours on Saturday and a few more this morning)

Even though I’m dirty and hungry and sleepy and tired of being in the car- I had the BEST time helping Katie with this project. These friends of mine are crazy wonderful and I miss them already. And I think we got a lot of great footage- can’t wait to see how Katie works her magic and puts it all together. Plus we met some great people and got to have adventure I’ll never forget.

I’ll try to write a more detailed post about the chase and such in a day or so. But for now, rest assured that the balloon team, chase crew and camera crew are all safe and sound.

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 146 other followers

