What’s Cooking: Veggie Thai Pizza


I’ve seen thai pizza on pizzeria’s menu in the past, but they always have chicken. So I decided to create a vegetarian version for myself. I did a tiny bit of research before heading to the grocery store to see what other people had made before and then I put together a mix that appealed to me. The best thing about this meal was the speed- from idea to plate it took less than 30 minutes (aside from the grocery run).

Shopping List

pizza dough (or precooked pizza crust or be braver than me and make the crust from scratch)
peanut sauce (check the labels, sometimes it’s made with anchovies)
olive oil
basil (dried or fresh)
1 lime (lime juice could work too)
mozzarella cheese
1 small head of broccoli
a carrot or two
1 small orange pepper
a little bunch of green onions
dry-roasted unsalted peanuts (just a handful will work)
chili powder or other spices to taste

Start by pre-heating the oven to 450 degrees. I used a Boboli pizza crust since there were no better options at the closest grocery store and last time I attempt home-made pizza crust it was a disaster.

Regardless of your crust choice, drizzle a little olive oil, some peanut sauce and squeeze a bit of lime juice on the crust in place of marinara sauce.

Then add a little basil. And a lot of cheese.

From the toppings, chop the broccoli, orange pepper and carrots into small pieces and distribute evenly across the pizza. Add some chopped green onion. I didn’t cook or steam any of the veggies beforehand because I was hoping for a little crunch, but you could soften them first if you prefer.

Then I smashed a few handfuls of peanuts under a knife and added them too. For more crunch.

Now pour (generously) more peanut sauce, some more olive oil and a bit more lime juice. Sprinkle with chili powder for added spice and top with a little more cheese.

Cook this bad-boy for 8-10 minutes (if your crust is already
cooked, otherwise follow baking instructions for your crust). When the cheese is melted and the smell is so delicious you can’t wait one more second to eat, it’s ready.

So good. My Aunt and Uncle even ate some. And loved it. I give it a 9 out of 10. Easy, filling, tasty. Next time I’m going to fry up some tofu and use that too. If you like thai food and pizza, give this a try. And let me know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 146 other followers

