Lately

The last few days have been a bit of an emotional roller-coaster. On Monday/Tuesday I was not in the best mood, feeling down about my move, etc, etc.

But Wednesday was much better. I spent the day being crafty with my Grandma and I heard back from another potential employer (I’m interviewing with them Wednesday!).

And then Friday I spent most of the day in bed with a book because of allergies/a cold/I don’t know exactly but I’m sneezing a lot and I feel extra tired.

I guess the rest did me some good because I felt healthier yesterday, so I accompanied my Aunt to the Putnam Pumpkin Festival. Neither of us knew what it was, but we decided to check it out. Turned out to be a lot of craft booths. And crowded sidewalks. We found an art studio where we’re planning to attend a jewelry making class and a wine-themed craft class in November and December. Then we had delicious chocolate chai lattes at an adorable coffeehouse (which I definitely plan on frequenting) and chatted about life for about an hour. I love my Aunt and I love that we can talk so easily.

When we finished our coffee, we went back outside to explore more booths only to discover the sun had disappeared, the wind had picked up and it too cold for us. So we settled in at the bar-top of one her favorite lunch restaurants and shared a bottle of wine while we waited for Uncle B to meet us for a meal. I ended up ordering a butternut squash bisque and veggie wrap. So good, especially the soup.

This morning I woke up and promptly started a yoga routine before I could come up with excuses to put it off yet another day. Promise to self- do yoga much more often. I feel stretched and relaxed.

I don’t have any plans for today. Probably watch more of Dexter (I just started watching this on Netflix- pretty good) and probably bake something delicious. If it doesn’t rain, maybe go for a walk. There is a trail along the river nearby which I found to be perfect for a long walk while listening to audiobooks.

My Aunt is in Germany until Thursday so it’s just me, Uncle B and the puppies for the next few days. I had planned to go see Derek tomorrow, but the Wednesday interview pushed that back a few more days. Oh, about the interview. It’s a social media marketing and public relations position for a natural skincare company in Rhode Island. As far as I can tell, it’s a pretty small company which means, if I get the position, there could be room to grow with them. The office is about 45 minutes from my Aunt & Uncle’s house and about 2 hours from Derek. So it’s do-able. I’m trying not to get my hopes up, but it could be a great fit. I’ll keep you posted after the interview.

So I’m finding things to do and trying to keep a positive attitude. And this corner of Connecticut is absolutely gorgeous this time of year, so that’s helping to lift my mood.

sorry for the power lines in the way, but aren't these trees incredible?

Here’s to hoping that this week brings more opportunities and more happiness.

One response to “Lately

  1. Erin

    Chocolate chai sounds delicious. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for the interview!

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 146 other followers

