What’s Cooking: Acorn Squash Shepard’s Pie and Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

When Derek was in Connecticut with me last weekend, we bought an acorn squash. But he never got around to cooking it for me. With no prior experience with acorn squash, I had no clue how to prepare it and so it sat untouched until this morning when I packed it up and brought it with me to New Hampshire.

While I waiting for Derek to get home from school, I looked up ways to prepare the squash and when I saw these easy directions for mashing the cooked squash, I was inspired to try a new take on an old favorite from my school days: Shepard’s Pie.

My mom used to layer ground beef, canned corn and mashed potatoes into a casserole dish and bake them all together. I just substituted acorn squash mash for the potatoes and soy protein crumbles for the beef.

I have to admit, I was a little nervous that it would be awful (since I have no experience with acorn squash) so I let Derek try it first. When he kept eating, I tried it too. And I have to say it was pretty good. At least a 7 out of 10.  Next time I’ll mix squash and potato for a creamier topping and sprinkle with cheese.

Shopping List

1 acorn squash
a big scoop of sour cream
a few pinches of ground cumin
a clove or two of chopped garlic
salt and black pepper to taste
veggie crumbles (or protein of choice)
1 can of corn

Slice and seed the acorn squash and then bake with olive oil until the flesh is soft and scoop-able (30-45 minutes depending on your squash size).

When it’s done, scoop out the flesh and mix with sour cream, cumin, garlic, salt and pepper.

Warm the protein on the stove top for few minutes- while you do this pre-heat the oven to 350ish degrees.

Once the crumbles are warm (they don’t need to be hot since you’re going to bake it), spread them in a casserole dish. Layer with corn and then add the squash mix on top.

Bake for 15-20 until it all looks warm and the squash starts browning a little.

Plate and eat. We added a bit more sour cream and like I said above, cheese would be good too. Yum.

And for dessert… pumpkin chocolate chip cookies! I made these last time Derek was in Connecticut for my aunt’s pumpkin carving party. I loved them so much I decided to make some more. Plus I needed something to do tonight since Derek has a bunch of reading to do. These are super easy and super delicious. Try them right away.

Shopping List (adapted from this recipe)

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
1/2 can (8 oz) of pumpkin
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon milk
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

This recipe makes about 18 cookies, but you double the batch easily to make more.

Mix the dry ingredients. Add the wets. Stir in chocolate chips.

Plop in rows onto a greased cookie sheet. And bake for 12-14 minutes at 375.

Sooo good! I give them 10 out of 10.

We were both happy and full after this meal/dessert combo. Here’s proof:

2 responses to “What’s Cooking: Acorn Squash Shepard’s Pie and Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Mego

    Man I miss you too. You’re my favorite couple. (Besides Doug and I of course) : )

  2. Erin

    Love the idea of using squash in a shephard’s pie! I need to get my squash on pronto. It’s already Nov, and I have not eaten much of it this season…

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 147 other followers

