My Pursuit of Happiness

More than once I’ve written a post that suggests how frustrated I am with the job search and adjustment phase that comes with a cross-country move. The hardest aspect is finding things to do everyday in order to feel productive. But I’ve also been dealing with a range of emotions stemming for the fact that I haven’t found a job yet.

However for the last week or so, I’ve been in a much better place mentally. In an effort to maintain this positive attitude, I’m sharing some of the things I’ve been doing lately in order to stay happy in my state of unemployment.

Practicing yoga 4 times a week- I’ve been doing a great job of starting most of my days with at least 30 minutes of stretching and poses. Yoga really helps put me in a good mood. I find balance and strength when I practice.  And the ending meditation relaxes me and puts my goals into focus. Starting my mornings with yoga has put me in a positive mindset that carries throughout the day.

Looking for jobs/sending out resumes 3 times a week- When I first moved, I was looking for work every day (usually searching the job listings several times a day) but I was often multi-tasking and distracted. I found it frustrating to spend so much time looking with so few results. And I constantly felt pressure and guilt if I wasn’t applying for jobs. I’ve since decided on a schedule- spending the morning and/or afternoon on Monday, Wednesday and Friday sorting through the listing and sending my resume out. Since I’m giving myself a substantial break between searches, there are typically several opportunities I’m interested in. And by designating a specific time to job-seek, I free myself from the guilt. I log in a few hours of focused searching and then I feel comfortable spending the rest of my day doing other things.

Listening to Seattle radio stations online- I can’t find any radio stations that interest me in Connecticut so I listen to KUBE and KISS on my computer. I feel a little more connected to Seattle this way, hearing the DJs I used to listen to everyday on the way to work is familiar and comforting. And I get some tidbits of Seattle news which I like.

Crafting with my Grandma- I can’t get too specific about the crafts, because I may or may not be making Christmas gifts for friends that read this blog, but spending time with Grandma (and Grandpa, although he doesn’t craft with us) is so wonderful. One of the reasons I moved was to spend more time with my extended family and I feel great when I do. It’s a nice change of scenery from my Aunt & Uncle’s house. But more than that, I just really enjoy the conversations and company of my grandparents. And I’m learning a lot of crafty things from my G’ma.

Pen-paling with my little sisters- One of the hardest parts of my decision to move was the fact that I wouldn’t be close to my little sisters as they grow up. I was worried about missing all the milestones, and even the stupid, little things. But since I’ve moved, I feel like I’ve had better communication with the Littles than when I was living in Seattle. We text, facebook, talk on the phone, and even write letters back and forth. An “I love you” from one of my favorite persons goes a long way in brightening my day.

Wine tasting with my Aunt- My Aunt has been one of my biggest supporters for a long time and living with her just makes her love and advice that much more accessible. Last weekend we spent Friday, Saturday and Sunday wine tasting and I loved every second of her company. I feel comfortable sharing anything with her so our conversations can help me sort out my feelings or vent.

Cooking, baking and eating- Food is a great source of pleasure for me. And rather than dwell on the fact that I don’t have a job yet, I’ve been using my time to make and eat food I love. I’ve been sharing some of those recipes here on Wednesdays as I get more creative, I’ll start sharing more.

Napping and reading- Knowing that my unemployment will be temporary as long as I continue to allow for jobs every week, I am indulging in naps when I want. And I’m reading good books when I can’t think of anything else to do. Once I start working, I know I’ll miss having time for both of these so I’m doing it while I can and not feeling guilty for it.

Here’s to hoping that this positivity sticks and I can manage to keep myself occupied and happy until I find a job,

A

4 responses to “My Pursuit of Happiness

  1. Mego

    Sounds like a bit of a turn-around from the other day. I’m proud of you for trying so hard. It can only get easier. I love you!

  2. Doug

    Umm, because you’re family, you too are contractually obligated to listen to MOViN online, not those other guys. Hang in there, it took me more than a year to recover from the move to Seattle.

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 147 other followers

