What’s Cooking: Pumpkin Oatmeal

I love pumpkin and I love oatmeal, especially for breakfast on cold, stormy days, so when I found this recipe (from a new favorite blog She Said. She Said.), I knew I wanted to try it right away. The results are AMAZING. I’m going to eat it every morning until I run out of ingredients. You need to eat this ASAP.

Shopping List

1/2 cup quick cooking oats
3/4 cups water
1/3 cup canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)
1/4 cup milk
1/2 tbsp. honey
1 tbsp. brown sugar
cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg to taste
sliced almonds for garnish

Mix oats and water in a bowl large enough that it won’t overflow and pop in the microwave for a minute and half. Stir in milk and pumpkin and cook another minute and a half. Add honey and brown sugar (you might like maple syrup or other sweeteners instead). Sprinkle desired amount of spices and toss a handful of almonds on top. Eat.

It’s ridiculous how easy this to make and even more ridiculous how great it tastes. I’m in love. Try right away- it will make your autumn day so much better.

3 responses to “What’s Cooking: Pumpkin Oatmeal

  1. YUM! This with a big fat dollop of vanilla greek yogurt would be so good!

  2. Erin

    mmm… I think I need to try this soon! I’m out of oatmeal, but this looks like a meal that would be a warm, stick-to-your-ribs, start to the day. 🙂 Love you!

  3. arikkahall

    Autumn- Yes! I think it would be delicious.
    Erin- Enjoying a bowl is definitely a great way to wake up.

    Thanks for your comments ladies. Let me know how much you love it if you make pumpkin oatmeal sometime soon. Take care!

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 147 other followers

