What’s Cooking: Red Curry with Potatoes and Fried Tofu

I must admit that I made this dish last week. With Thanksgiving tomorrow, I just didn’t feel like creating anything new. And this was delicious so it needed to be shared. I was inspired by a meal I had last spring at a Seattle Thai restaurant- it was actually a yellow curry but the soft potato pieces were so good that I wanted to try something similar on my own. I used this recipe as a guide.

Shopping List

curry and veggies-
3 large potatoes
1 tbsp red curry paste
1 can of coconut milk (14 oz)
2 poblano peppers
carrots- I chopped two large handfuls baby carrots
1 head of broccoli
1 tbsp soy sauce
2 tbsp light brown sugar
1/3 cup water

tofu and batter-
1 package of extra firm tofu
4 tbsp canola oil
1 cup flour
1 egg
2/3 cup water
1 tbsp cooking oil (I used canola again)
1/4 tsp baking powder
1 tbsp salt

rice-
1 cup of rice
2 cups water

This is probably the most involved meal I’ve cooked for my blog. I started in the afternoon by prepping all the vegetables. I cut the carrots and broccoli into bite size pieces. Then peeled, cut and cooked the potatoes. I sliced and de-seeded the peppers. Oh and I also cut the tofu at this time too. And cooked the rice. I put all of this away until a little later so that the cooking would be a little faster.

After my Aunt got home from work, I started by frying the tofu. I was excited to try this because I prefer tofu that has a little crunch and I thought this method would do that quite nicely (and it does). Start by mixing up the batter- stir up the flour, egg, water, oil (just 1 tbsp), baking powder and salt. Put some extra flour in a bowl or a plate to roll the tofu pieces in before battering. Pour the 4 tbsp of oil in a shallow pot and let it start warming. When it’s hot enough, roll the tofu pieces in flour and the cover generously in the batter. Drop gently into the hot oil and turn occasionally until all sides are golden brown. I had 4 or 5 pieces frying at a time. Be super careful because the hot oil will try to splatter and burn you. Set the cooked pieces on a plate covered by paper towels to soak up the excess oil.

Now, it’s time to make the curry. First, I steamed the carrots and broccoli until they were slightly soft. Then, in a big pot because you are going to add everything,  saute the pepper bits in canola oil. After they have cooked for a few minutes, add the coconut milk. Then add the curry paste. Stir until it has dissolved completely. Now add the soy sauce, brown sugar and water and mix until dissolved. Toss in the potatoes to warm them and add the carrots and broccoli to coat in the curry sauce. I did not add the fried tofu in the pot because I didn’t want them to get soggy.

Serve the veggie curry over rice and add tofu pieces to the top.

I was really happy with how this meal turned out. It tasted and smelled just like a Thai restaurant and I definitely enjoyed the fried tofu. This recipe makes a lot of food, though. Even with my Aunt and Uncle eating the curry, I had leftovers for a week. So if you’re making it for one of two you can could cut it in half and still have plenty to eat. If you’re reheating leftovers, the rice and curry warm well in the microwave but I put the tofus under the broiler because I wanted them to stay crisp.

I’ll be adding this recipe to my mental list of go-to meals, even though it takes a bit of prep and there are several steps. I know Derek would enjoy it and I loved the fried tofu so much that I’m thinking of other ways to serve it.

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 146 other followers

