Thanksgiving Day: Serving at Salvation Army

Today, on actual Thanksgiving, my family and I served at the Salvation Army. Tomorrow we’re having a meal together, but today we gave to others. I wasn’t sure what to expect, never having donated my time in this way before, but it was really special. The people in need were very thankful and appreciative. And I think the day was even better for me because my Aunt, Uncle, Grandma and Grandpa were with me and we got to share this experience. I would definitely help again next year, but I also want to look into volunteer opportunities throughout the rest of the year.

We got to the Salvation Army building at 8:30 this morning and started by helping prepare bread baskets and cutting/plating the pie. When we finished there was time to spare before the guests starting eating at noon, so we had a chance to step outside to watch the annual road race that starts and ends right in front of the Salvation Army. I guess it’s kind of a Thanksgiving-kickoff tradition in the area and I was amazed to see the mass of 15,000 racers. It’s only 4.8 miles, so the winner completed the loop in about 15 minutes and we stayed out long enough to cheer on at least a 1/3 of the finishers. Our fingers and toes were frozen at this point, so we went back in to warm up before the meal was served. (Aunty and I are determined to run it next year!)

At first I was on door-duty, greeting people as they arrived and helping them find a seat. Then I helped serve pie. I only served dinner to one lady, who arrived as we were cleaning up. Her graciousness was touching. And I made sure that she, and the two men sharing her table, had plenty of pie to take with them. It was such a small thing, but I know our help made their days much brighter.

Here’s some photos of the day:

Aunty S and I

Gramps, Jon (Bryan's son) and Uncle Bryan

pie!

Grandpa and Grandma

table set-up

 

the dining hall

 

Happy Thanksgiving my dear family and friends! I hope your day is filled with food, laughter and love. Tune in later this weekend for a recap of tomorrow’s dinner.

3 responses to “Thanksgiving Day: Serving at Salvation Army

  1. Erin

    That sounds wonderful! So sweet to do that as an entire family. Hope you enjoy your meal tonight too. I was actually thinking about you while making the pies, because the first ingredient is gelatin, and gelatin always reminds me of how you don’t eat gelatin, and I was pondering if there’d be away to make the custard without it. It seems like there must be someway… Love you,Erin

  2. Mego

    That is so awesome. I’m so glad you had that experience. It sounds amazing. Talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 147 other followers

