Black Friday: Dinner with Family and Friends

I had an absolutely amazing Thanksgiving weekend. Since we were serving at the Salvation Army on Thanksgiving Day, my Aunt, Uncle and I cooked a traditional Thanksgiving meal on Friday. We left early on Thursday morning for the shelter, so I recorded the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade to watch while I helped cook. I wish my little sisters could have been with me to watch it, it’s kind of our thing, but I made due without them.

Derek was with us- he made a sweet potato pie (his specialty- I waited two years before I had the opportunity to try it). My grandparents came with green bean casserole, turnips and pecan pie. Uncle B’s daughter Jackie, his son Jon and girlfriend and his sister Deb were here. And two good friends of my Aunt, Tony and Donnie, also joined. So twelve total.

There was plenty of food, as there should be, and most of it was really delicious. My Aunt bought a local, farm-raised turkey and apparently it was quite good although I can’t speak to that. The mashed potatoes were up to par and the yams I made received a few compliments. Jon made a sweet and sour pumpkin dish that was new to me and pretty tasty. Some of the food that my mom usually serves was missing (deviled eggs, corn, green salad) but I had a full plate nonetheless.

Before eating the meal my Aunt asked everyone to say what they are thankful for this year. And she made us both cry when her turn came. Then we commenced the over-eating.

The group played a game of Apples to Apples between dinner and dessert. I don’t think I’ve ever played with such a large group before but it was a lot of fun. And then we feasted on sweet potato pie, pecan pie, cheesecake, apple pie and chocolate peanut butter cookies. It’s no surprise to those that know me that dessert is my favorite course and I was thoroughly satisfied with the abundance of options.

Some people left after dessert. Those that stayed partook in a session of Wii bowling. Before bed I finished watching the parade then went to sleep oh-so-happy with the entire day. I give my first East Coast Thanksgiving a 10 out of 10. It was perfect.

Now bring on Christmas!

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 146 other followers

