What’s Cooking: Stuffed Peppers

Last week while visiting Derek in New Hampshire, I made us vegetarian stuffed peppers. I don’t remember ever having stuffed peppers before so the experience was new to me. The recipe I chose cooked in a crock-pot so I borrowed one from my Aunt and hauled it up to Derek’s apartment specifically for this recipe. I guess the peppers weren’t quite soft enough (we were hungry so we took them out at the earliest part of the cooking range) but the filling was pretty yummy. And they smelled great while cooking.

The thing with this recipe, though, is that it’s not a fast meal. Cook time is several hours so plan accordingly if you want to give them a try.

My proportions will make four peppers. I thought that would mean four servings but they were so big I could only eat half so we ended up with a lot leftover.

Shopping List

4 large green peppers
1 1/2 cups cooked brown rice
2 small tomatoes, chopped
1 cup frozen corn, thawed
1/2  small sweet onion, chopped
1/3 cup canned red beans, rinsed and drained (or black beans) (or both)
1/2 cup cubed Monterey Jack cheese
4 fresh basil leaves, thinly sliced
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
3/4 cup meatless spaghetti sauce
1/2 cup water
Parmesan cheese to sprinkle on top

I started by cooking the rice in a rice cooker. While that was doing it’s thing, I chopped the tomatoes and onion, thawed and measured the corn and measured out the beans. I stirred this stuff together in a big bowl and set aside until the rice was done. I made a separate bowl with the cheese, basil, garlic, salt and pepper and also set that aside. Lastly, I cut the top off the peppers and de-seeded them so they would be ready for filling.

When the rice was finished, combine it with the veggies and seasonings. Prepare the crock pot by pouring some of the spaghetti sauce on the bottom and adding a little water. Then fill each pepper and set in the pot. Top with more sauce and then add a little Parmesan.

Cook on low for 3-4 hours (we pulled ours out at about 3 hours and 15 minutes and they probably would have been better if we waited another 30 minutes). You’ll end up with something like this:

I’d say my 1st attempt with stuffed peppers was a success, even though they should have cooked a little longer. Derek and I both enjoyed them and it’s an easy mistake to correct next time. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 147 other followers

