Feeling Down

I’m in an emotional slump. The relentless snow storms are wearing on me. I miss my friends/family/Seattle desperately.  I don’t love my job yet (but I am VERY happy to have one). I could go on, but I won’t.

What I think is really going on is that I’ve been planning and moving and adjusting and settling for five months. And now, my world has stopped changing at such a rapid pace and I’m grasping to process it all.  I’m doing an awful job of being positive. Even though I have a job that is sort of in my field and an apartment all my own- I’m not happy. I’m annoyed with myself. This is what I wanted and now I’m not happy?! What the heck? I don’t want to be a grumpy-pants that is never happy with my life.

Have any of you felt like this before? What did you change in your life (or your attitude) that made you feel better?

I think that one thing I really need is a social outlet. I’m getting to know people at work, and I’m proud of myself for that, but I think it’s going to be awhile before they transition from co-workers to friends. I just bought a Bikram yoga package which I think will have positive physical and emotional effects, but I’m not sure how many friends I’ll make by stretching and sweating like crazy for 90 minutes. And I’m checking out book clubs- so far nothing seems like the best fit, but I’ll keep looking. I’m really trying to be pro-active, but I’m out of ideas. Any suggestions?

I’m going to practice positivity by ending this post with something that makes me happy: I’ll see Katie this weekend (!) and then Rebecca and Chris will each be visiting in April (!!). I’m also really excited about my new shower curtain. It makes me smile every time I pass by my bathroom.

5 responses to “Feeling Down

  1. christina

    I love you friend. Times get hard and I’m sad to hear that you are sad. Try and focus on all the positives in your life. I think the yoga will be awesome for you. I’m jealous and in need of some meditation mysed. If you ever need anything I’m hear for friend.

    • arikkahall

      Thanks Christina! It means a lot. And right after I posted this, some ladies from work invited me to get drinks and see a movie with them on Thursday, so maybe things will start looking up.

      About yoga- it’s amazing. I don’t practice often enough, but I always feel great when I do. If you’re not already signed up, you should get Tacoma Groupon emails. There are discounts to yoga studios all the time on Groupon- it’s the only way I can afford classes.

  2. Jeff

    I totally feel you Arikka. When I first moved here to Vegas and was settling in and getting used to my job and trying to figure things out it seemed that I was a lot happier. Now that things are fairly settled it has become a little monotonous and boring. I am trying to join things as well. I think I found an adult kickball league to join and then I’m trying to find some trivia nights at local bars. I am not the best at meeting people like some of our friends/relatives but I guess it has to be done in order not to be miserable 😛 Sorry for not being uplifting but I definitely feel where you are coming from but it can’t do anything but get better 🙂

    • arikkahall

      I’m glad you commented Jeff! I’m sorry you’re going through the same thing- it’s not fun. But you’re right, it can only get better. And now I’m going to look into trivia nights and club sports (although I’m not much of an athlete). Those are great ideas!

      • arikkahall

        Also, it’s weird to me that you’re bored in Vegas. But I’m sure living there is different than vacationing there.

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 146 other followers

