Over the Weekend

I spent the weekend in Connecticut; Aunty S and Uncle B asked me to puppy-sit so they could go away for the night. It turns out the Inn they stayed at was only 5 minutes away from my apartment so it’s almost like we house swapped. But if we really had house swapped, they would have got the short-end of the deal. Their house has cable, plenty of food and a comfy bed for me to sleep on. My apartment has none of the above.

I drove down Friday after work. It was like old-times when I used to live there and would spend an hour and half in the car commuting to and from work. I met them for dinner and drinks at some of the places I used to visit often, but hadn’t been in months. It was nice. I had a tasty taco salad and then later a delish glass of wine. And the wine bar had Jameson/Bailey’s cupcakes on display so I took one home to enjoy. Mmm…

They left Saturday morning and I hung out with my puppy cousins Reny and Otis. We walked. We napped. We watched a Sex and the City marathon. It was a wonderfully lazy day.

Sunday was not quite as nice. Dogs woke me up at 6 and then again at 8. I fully intended to make myself a cup of coffee and start the day when I let them out at 8, but I accidently locked myself out of the house. Big sigh. I checked all the windows and doors, and I was definitely locked out. There was nothing I could do but wait for them to get home–which they did at 11:30. What a freaking waste of a morning!

I helped with some dinner prep and then ran a few errands before coming back to the house for a mini-Thanksgiving-in-March. Gram and Gramps came and so did Uncle B’s sister Deb. On real Thanksgiving, Aunty S ended up with two turkeys and didn’t have occasion to cook up the second one until this weekend. So they all dined on turkey and I enjoyed a plate full of side dishes, just like Thanksgiving in November.

Despite the lock-out incident it was a great weekend. I love being with my family. They’re funny and loving and just easy to be around.

On a different note, I’m sorry about my lack of posts in the last couple months. My blog is having an identity crisis. I started it as a way to document my move. And now I’m moved. So I’m not sure what direction to take it in. But you can help, loved one. Leave me a comment and tell me what do you want to read about.

I will tell you that in less than 2 weeks my bestie will be here in Mass with me and we’re going to have a touristy, shopping-filled, whirlwind tour of New England. You’ll probably hear from me again before then, but just in case, now you have something to look forward to.

Until next time,

A

One response to “Over the Weekend

  1. Mego

    Well, since I’m terrible about picking up the phone and calling people, I love your blog the way it is. I love reading about your daily life and silly adventures. It’s never boring!

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 147 other followers

