Fancy Digs

Well furnished digs at least. Fancy might be a stretch.

Two and a half months ago I posted some photos of my bedroom. Yep, pretty bare and sad looking. And it stayed that way until last night. My Uncle was trying to get rid of some furniture in preparation for an international move this summer. I happily received any and all cast off pieces with open arms. Look at the changes:

Before

 

After

Notice my clothes no longer live in side-by-side pink suitcases and most importantly- I have a bed! With a frame and a boxspring! The air mattress treated me well but I was ready for an upgrade.

I displayed my jewelry and some photos of your sweet faces on the giant and beautiful dresser. I’m really happy with how it came out- makes choosing accessories fun (and easy since I don’t have to untangle whatever necklace I want to wear while I brush my teeth and try to leave for work on time). And the lamp on the dresser actually works with the switch. Before the only thing plugged into the outlet controlled by the switch was my internet–so it had to be left on all the time. But with the rearranging, I hooked it up so that a light comes on when you flip the switch. I know, I know, crazy right?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The mirror next to the bed attaches to the dresser. Since I was pretty sure I wanted other things on the wall above it, I kept it separate. I unscrewed the brackets and found that it works perfectly as an outfit mirror just by leaning it against the wall. I may hang it in the future, but I think it’s pretty as is for now.

That little nightstand was $20 at the Christmas Tree Shops. And even though the instructions said two people were required, I put it together all by myself. The only problem is that the drawer doesn’t really work. The sides are off a little bit; I got frustrated and forcefully pushed the drawer into the opening and that’s where it will stay. Now it’s a just-for-decoration drawer and I’m ok with that. I also got the lamp on top at the Christmas Tree Shops and I love it. I think it’s simple and perfect.

I need some stuff up on the blank walls. I’m thinking about making a colorful headboard and I have some other ideas for wall art. But for now, I’m really really happy with it. Whatcha think? Anyone want to paint me something awesome to hang?

Hope you had a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 147 other followers

