What’s Cooking: Veggie Pot Pie

I had every intention of sharing this recipe yesterday, to fit with my old weekly post What’s Cooking Wednesday. But… I was in an 8 hour meeting at work and by the time I got home, my brain was dunzo. So you’re getting the first ever What’s Cooking Thursday instead. Which works out because I don’t have any Awkward/Awesomes to share this week anyways.

I made this pot pie last weekend, on a rainy, cloudy day when Derek was studying and I was relaxing. It was a perfect meal for that sort of day. And it also worked out to be perfect leftovers for after-Easter brunch. I started with this recipe here and then tweaked according to what I already had and/or my preferences.

Shopping List:

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 onion, chopped
A few pinches of garlic powder – minced garlic would be better, but I didn’t find out until I started cooking that the garlic I had was dried out
Two or three handfuls of baby carrots, chopped
2 potatoes, peeled and diced
2 stalks celery, sliced 1/4 inch wide
1 cup frozen broccoli
1 can of sweet peas
3 cups vegetable broth
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon ground black pepper
2 tablespoons cornstarch
A few dashes of Bragg’s liquid amino -instead of soy sauce which I don’t like and didn’t have
Pre-made pie crust

Do this:

Preheat your oven to 425.

Heat oil in a large skillet or saucepan and cook onions for 3 to 5 minutes. I also added my garlic powder. If you use minced garlic, you’ll probably want to cook it a bit with the onions.

Then, stir in all the rest of the veggies. At this point, I realized that I didn’t have a pot big enough for all this stuff. After a few moments of irritation/frustration, Derek helped me separate everything equally into the two biggest pots I had. It worked. But use the biggest pot you got to save yourself that hassle.

Add veggie broth and bring to a boil, then turn heat down to a simmer. Cook until vegetables are barely tender, about 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.

While the veggies cook, mix the cornstarch, Bragg’s and 1/4 cup water until cornstarch is completely dissolved. Another tip- the cornstarch gets harder quickly if you don’t mix right away. I poured this stuff together and then did something else for a minute and it was kinda a mess to stir up. So probably right after adding the cornstarch so you don’t have the same problem.

Stir into vegetables and cook until sauce thickens, about 3 minutes.

Lay one pre-made crust on the bottom of your dish (I used a 9×9 because it was the biggest I had and it worked out great).

Pour the filling into the pastry lined dish.

Cover with remaining dough, seal and flute the edges.

Bake in preheated oven for 20ish minutes–until the crust is brown and it smells so good that you just can’t wait to eat it.

I topped my slice with some cheddar because I love cheese. But I only had a little block so left-overs were eaten cheese-less and it tasted delish both ways. Mmm… I wish I still had some to eat tonight.

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 146 other followers

