What’s Cooking: Black Bean & Corn Salad

I know Washington is having a lame summer, but in Massachusetts it’s hot hot hot. Since I’d rather not pay to turn on my A/C, I try to keep my apartment cool and the easiest way to do that is to avoid using the oven as much as possible. Salads are easy (and cold) but I also want to make sure I’m eating a protein source every day, so this little recipe is perfect. I whipped up a batch on Sunday evening and have been eating it all week. It works for so many different dishes.

Shopping List:

2 cans of black beans
1 can of corn
1/2 red onion, chopped
1-2 peppers, chopped. Use whatever color you prefer. For this batch I used yellow and red sweet peppers that my Gram gave me.
1 large tomato, chopped
cilantro, torn
1 lime and 1 lemon
olive oil
salt and pepper
crushed red pepper or other spicy spice

Do this:

Mix the beans, corn, onion, peppers and tomato in a large bowl. In a smaller bowl, squeeze the juice from the lemon and the lime. Add a little olive oil  (I don’t measure, but probably around a 1 tbsp) and spices (to taste) and give it a little stir. Pour over the bean mixture and stir gently. Top with cilantro. Try to let it marinate in the fridge for a little while–but it’s great right away too if you can’t wait.

Serving Ideas:

Chips and Dip

Taco Salad

I also ate it as a burrito for lunch today but I forgot to take a picture. I also want to try making a quesadilla filled with it or eating it over rice topped with cheese and sour cream. I’ll probably be making this for the rest of the summer so if you have any suggestions, please share.

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 147 other followers

