Lazy Weekend

Derek is home! I misread his flight details and it turned out that he didn’t arrive in Boston until 9am. I swooped over to the airport and brought him back to apartment where we promptly fell asleep.

We didn’t have great weather this weekend, and Derek’s sleep schedule is all messed up from traveling, so we spent most of the weekend inside. We watched three movies, cooked a delicious meal and took several naps. It was absolutely wonderful. It’s such a bummer to be back at work today (a necessary evil), but I’m comforted knowing that D plans to spend the rest of the month with me before school starts on the 29th.

If you’re looking for movie rental ideas, here are my thoughts on the three we just watched:

I give Little Fockers a 7.5 out of 10. My expectations weren’t particularly high–I was looking for an easy watch and few laughs–with that in mind, I’d say it delivered. Roles reversed a little, Derek fell asleep while I managed to watch the whole thing, but I think his nap resulted more from jetlag than boredom.

 
 

The Aviator receives 9 out 10. I chose it because it was on Netflix’s Top 100 and my queue was getting empty. I’d say it definitely earned it’s spot on the list. It doesn’t score a full 10 because I thought it was too long. Be sure to visit the restroom and prepare snacks before starting as you’ll be caught up in the story for 3 hours.

 

An impulse Red Box decision that didn’t pan out, I give Visioneers a 1 (because 0 would be mean). I don’t have much to say about it because I lost interest and fell asleep before the halfway point. Derek, however, did watch the entire film and wasn’t impressed either. Zach Galifianakis is a funny guy–but not in this movie. Save yourself the dollar and don’t rent it.
 

So there you are. At least now I can say I put my unproductive weekend to good use. Seen anything good lately? Seriously, Derek and I watch a lot of movies–please recommend.

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 146 other followers

