What’s Cooking: Stuffed Tomatoes

The lovely Katie Kalk gave me this cookbook for my birthday and I absolutely adore it. I’ve been craving the stuffed tomatoes ever since I first flipped through the book. Thanks to Derek’s help and some $9 tomatoes from Whole Foods (it was an accident, I’ve never intentionally spend that much on produce), last night was the night.

Shopping List

6 large tomatoes-expensive price tag is optional
1/2 cup plain yogurt (I used soy yogurt and it worked just fine)
2 cloves of garlic, minced
12 basil leaves, chopped
1 tablespoon olive oil
Dashes of salt, black pepper, paprika and cayenne
1/4 cup Gruyere cheese, cubbed
1/2 cup whole wheat couscous

Step by Step

Start by preheat the oven to 350 degrees. While it warms, cut the top of the tomato and gently scoop out the inside. But don’t throw it away! You’ll wanna keep some of it for the filling.

Once all the tomatoes are scooped out, measure out 2/3 cup of the inside flesh and juice and put it in a bowl. Mix in the yogurt, olive oil, seasoning and most of the basil (you’ll want to save a little bit to top the tomatoes when they come out of the oven). Taste the mixture and make sure you’re happy with the seasoning. Add more if necessary and then stir in the cheese and couscous.

Fill the tomatoes to the top and set them in a greased baking dish. Make sure the dish is the appropriate size so that they don’t move around or fall over–my bread pan was perfect for the six tomatoes we made. Pop the dish in the oven for 50-60 minutes.

Start watching a movie while the tomatoes bake. When the timer goes off, check that the tomatoes have started to wrinkle a little and that they’ve browned a bit where they touch the dish. If your tomatoes have this going for them, they are ready to be enjoyed. Top with the remaining basil, dish up and eat!

I had such a lovely evening sharing the kitchen with Derek as the rain poured from the gray sky. Even though it’s August, it felt like autumn and I loved it. These tomatoes, and the time spent preparing them, were just perfect. I hope you love them as much I did.

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 147 other followers

