The Other Portland

Derek and I ventured to Portland, Maine on Saturday. I still think Portland, Oregon is mo’ betta’ but it was fun to do some exploring.

We had no plan whatsoever when we got into town. Most of the day was spent walking and browsing shops and craft booths. D packed us a picnic and we sat at a dock and watched boats come and go. We happened upon a free tour of Shipyard Brewery (it was the lamest tour I’ve ever been on but it ended with free beer samples). We shared nachos and drank Maine microbrews. I tried interesting ice cream flavors: chocolate wasabi (no good) and thai chili (kinda good). On our way out of town, we stopped at Trader Joe’s so Derek could stock his cupboards before starting fall semester. And when we returned home, we took a nap, happily exhausted from a day in the sun.


Even though I’d say autumn is my favorite season, days like this make me want to hang on to summer just a little bit longer.

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 147 other followers

