What’s Baking: Love ’em or Hate ’em Brownies

Since venturing into vegan baking, I’ve stumbled across some interesting recipes. Like this one. It looks like a delicious, fudgey brownie but that’s not quite how it tastes. Don’t get me wrong, I think they’re delish (although not everyone in my office would agree). They just taste different than what you expect.

And they’re mostly good for you–only 1 gram of fat and 2 grams of sugar but 9 grams of fiber and 11 grams of protein, wowzer. Don’t be a wimp, give it a try and tell me what you think.

Shopping List:

15 ounces black beans, drained and rinsed
2 whole bananas
⅓ cup agave nectar *Honey might work too
¼ cup unsweetened cocoa
1 tbsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla extract
¼ cup raw sugar *This is optional
¼ cup instant oats

Step by Step:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and grease an 8×8 baking dish.

Throw everything into a blender (or food processor) except for the oats and blend until smooth.

Pour batter into dish and stir in oats.

Bake for 30 minutes. After they’ve cooled- slice, eat and enjoy.

I really do like the flavor but next time I make a batch, I plan to revise the recipe a little. I thought the flavors of banana and cinnamon were a little too strong–next time I’ll use one banana and 1/2 the amount of cinnamon. I’ll also use more oats (probably 1/2 cup) so the end result is a little more firm. I also think it might be tasty to add a little shredded coconut to the mix. Yum.

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 147 other followers

