What’s Cooking: Potato and Tofu Curry

Before we get to the recipe, I have two exciting announcements!

First, this is my 100th post. And I’m pretty proud of that. It took me over a year and a lot of writer’s block to get here, but I made it. I’m still not really sure what my blog is about, but you all are still reading and that’s kinda cool. So thanks friends, family and strangers who occasionally find their way here.

Second, I’ve been reading way too many books on food and nutrition lately and… well… I’ve decided to ditch the eggs and dairy and go vegan. I cut everything but cheese out a few months ago but now I’m done with that too (and to be honest, it’s much harder than giving up meat). I wasn’t sure if I wanted to make a big deal out of it and tell everyone, but it’s a significant enough change that I thought I should share. I’ll try my best not to be a pain in the ass to feed if I visit. On the flip-side, I promise to cook you something delicious (sans animal products) if you ever visit.

And now to our regularly scheduled programming…

Shopping List

brown rice
extra firm tofu
olive oil
1 potato
some carrots (I just chopped up some baby carrots)
kale
green onion
1 clove of garlic
a can of coconut milk
curry paste

Step by Step

These instructions should make enough for a meal for two. Or in my case, dinner for one and then lunch leftovers for one. Double or triple if you’re feeding more.

Do yourself a favor and start cooking the rice first. I forgot this step and ended up making some last minute cous cous right before eating. It was ok, but I think rice would have been better. One cup of uncooked rice should cook up to the right amount.

While the rice is doing it’s thang, cut your potato in half and microwave one piece until it’s soft enough to pierce but not really mushy. Set aside and let cool.

Next you’re gonna wanna fry up your tofu. If Derek was around, I would have asked him I cook the tofu because he has more patience than me, but he wasn’t so I stepped up and did it myself. I used about 1/3 of the package but you could use more or less depending on how much tofu you want in the dish. Cut into bite sized pieces and toss in a pan with a splash  of olive oil. Keep the heat on medium-low (a 3 or 4 if you’re working on a 1-10 scale like me) and keep turning those puppies over until they start browning on all sides.

While the tofus cook, tear a couple leaves of kale into small pieces, chop a clove of garlic and some green onion and cut the potato and carrots into chunks.

When the tofus are looking pretty good, but not quite done yet, toss the kale, chopped green onion and garlic into a larger pan with a teeny bit of water (probably your biggest pan because you’re gonna be adding the coconut milk to it) and cook a little. Don’t forget to keep flipping your tofus.

After a few minutes, add half of 13.5 can of coconut milk to the pan with the kale. Then mix in 2-3 tbsp of curry paste, depending on how spicy you like it, and stir in the carrots and potatoes. When the tofu is done, add that too.

Simmer for just a minute or so and then serve over your rice-which should be done by now if you followed my tip. If you forgot about your grain, turn the heat way down and throw something together real quick.

Mmm… delicious and filling. A perfect meal for the transitioning season.

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 147 other followers

