What’s Cooking: Bean and Green Soup

Full of delicious veggies, quinoa and white beans, this soup was perfect for a stormy, autumn-like evening we had last week. I got a little carried away and ended up making enough soup for a whole week. But it tasted just as good as left-overs as it did the first night.

It’s so so easy to  make and endless substitutions are possible. I’m embarrassed to admit that this was my first time making soup from scratch, but now that I know how simple it is, I plan to do all fall and winter long. And it’s a great way to use up whatever veggies you have in the fridge.

Shopping List
8 cups of veggie broth (I used the flavor cubes that you add to water. I started with two cups and then just kept adding more)
1 can of cannellini beans, drained
1 cup of quinoa, cooked
about 5 kale leaves, washed and torn
broccoli, cut into bite sized pieces (for this soup, I used the equivalent of about 2 heads)
peas, maybe about a 1/2 cup
green onions, a large handful of small, chopped pieces
carrots, I cut about 6 baby carrots in half and called it good
salt, pepper, paprika and garlic powder

Step by Step
Pour the veggie broth in a big pot and let it start warming. Sprinkle in seasoning to taste (go easy at first, you can always add more).

I used frozen broccoli, so I steamed it briefly in a saucepan before adding it to the broth. I also steamed the kale for just a minute to make sure it wouldn’t be tough in the soup. When they are slightly tender, add to the broth. Throw in the green onions, peas, carrots and beans too.

Let it cook until it is just about to the boiling point. Turn down the heat and test your seasoning (adding more if necessary). When you’re happy with the flavor, add the quinoa and eat.

I told you it was easy. And tasty. But don’t take my word for it, try it yourself.

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 146 other followers

