Picking Apples

On Saturday, Derek and I met up with several friends from the office to go apple picking.  I was hoping for a beautiful, crisp fall day but instead it was hot and humid. But whatev, it was my first time picking apples and I wasn’t going to let anything ruin my day. I ate one of every variety while we were still in the orchard (I think the total was 5) and then brought home a whole lotta apples to bake with.

I made applesauce. And you can make it too–it’s super easy. Peel, core and cut a bunch of apples. Throw them in a big pot and add a tiny bit of water and some cinnamon. Cover and cook on medium-high until the whole thing is boiling like crazy and the apples are soft enough to stab with a fork. Remove from heat and either mash with a potato masher or blend with an immersion blender until you get the consistency you want. I like it a little chunky. Taste it and add more cinnamon or sugar if you want. That’s all you gotta do and now you have a delicious snack (or breakfast or dessert).

TIP: Don’t try to finish your laundry while the apples boil on the stove. It could result in scorched apples and an unhappy chef. I’m just saying…

I used about half of the apples that I picked in the applesauce and I think I’m going to use the rest to make apple crisp this weekend. Yum! Or maybe I’ll try something a little less obvious. Know any good apple desserts I should try?

One response to “Picking Apples

  1. Pingback: What’s Cooking: Apple Crisp « From the Desk of Arikka Hall

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 147 other followers

