Vegan Report: Month One

It’s been one month since I cut dairy and eggs from my already-vegetarian diet. I had flirted with the idea for several weeks before really making the commitment, so I was pretty sure I knew I was getting myself into. And for the most part, my expectations were correct. I knew that it would require more cooking. I knew it would be harder to dine out. I knew that there was no good substitute for cheese.

What I didn’t really expect, though, was all the support I’ve received. Derek has been awesome with all my food changes–he’s happy to eat vegan dishes and pays extra attention to labels on the food we buy. And the people I work with have repeatedly gone out of their way to make versions of food that I could eat. Someone even made a separate batch of vegan cupcakes so that I could celebrate International Talk Like a Pirate Day with the rest of the office (yep, we did that).

I’ve found suitable substitutes for every dairy product I ate regularly except for cheese. Fake cheese is disgusting. And I never really ate eggs on their own, so all I needed to do to cut them out was find egg substitute for baking. Turns out there’s a lot of options (I usually mix 1 tbsp of ground flax seed with 3 tbsp of water for each egg).

That being said, I still don’t really know if a vegan diet is something I’ll stick with forever. It’s possible that I’m still figuring it out and that it’ll last. But at this point, I feel like it’s possible that I will allow myself to occasionally eat dairy (namely cheese). I don’t intend to return to my old eating habits, but I’m not sure I’m ready to commit to a life without pizza or nachos. I’m still trying to determine if I could be comfortable in the ethical grey area that I would create for myself if cheese found its way back into my diet.

I think it’s too early to tell. And I want to give my body and mind adequate time to adjust to the new diet before I make a decision one way or other. So please bear with my monthly reflections (or skip over them if you like) and cut me some slack if I end up straying from a strictly vegan food choices.

Much love,

A

4 responses to “Vegan Report: Month One

  1. Erin

    If you weren’t on the other side of the country I’d smack you. Actually I miss you so I’d hug you first then smack you. 😉

    • arikkahall

      Why the smack? I still eats lots of yummy food. And I’m more interested than ever in cooking quality meals for myself.

      And I miss you too. Visit someday?

  2. Erin

    If it’s inspired you to cook more then I guess it’s okay. But what about the cheese? 🙂 I am planning one mini trip to new orleans and I’m going to allow myself one other trip so maybe…..

    • arikkahall

      Yeah, it’s tough sometimes to avoid cheese. And I may decide to eat it occasionally after I’ve given veganism a fair shot.

      And…when are you planning to visit NOLA? My brother and his fiancé moved there in August so I’m hoping to visit them sometime next year.

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 146 other followers

