What’s Cooking: Easy Peasy Potato Burritos

At Jessie’s request, I bought some tater tots at Trader Joe’s the other day. I made some for her but there was still more than half the bag in my freezer. And while I think tots are pretty tasty on their own, last night I decided to replicate a favorite from the burrito bars in my college town: the potato burrito.

The outcome was delicious and the process was super simple. I don’t even know if I should count this as cooking. But I thought a few of you would enjoy this (I’m talking to you hermano) so I’m sharing anyways.

Shopping List
whole wheat tortillas
brown rice
black beans
tater tots
salsa
Non-vegan optional ingredients: cheese and sour cream

Step by Step

The longest step is cooking the rice so start with that first. If you have a rice cooker it’s pretty painless. You’re on your own for stovetop cooking though; I don’t mess with that anymore. I haven’t done it yet, but I think it would add a little something to dish if you used veggie broth instead of water. Lemme know if you try it.

While that cooks away, pre-heat your oven and cook the tater tots according to the package. I like mine crispier so after ten minutes, I turned up the heat by 25 degrees.

When both the rice and the tots are just about done, warm the beans in a pot (or in the microwave if you must).

Get the tortilla ready and then fill her up. Top with salsa and any other burrito garnishes you love (cilantro would be delish).

If you have teeny little tortillas like I do, make sure to grab a couple dozen napkins cause you’re about to make a mess. A yummy, yummy mess.

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 146 other followers

