Three-Two

On Saturday Derek turned 32. We started the day at a Boston Vegetarian Society Festival. It was uncomfortably crowded so we only stayed for a tiny bit. But we met up with friends Lisa and Jim and I ate a vegan soft serve cone (yum!).

Then we hopped on the T and made our way downtown for a matinee of Peter Pan. It was in a 360 degree theater and there was background movie projected all around us. Is was so different than anything I had seen before; I really enjoyed it, despite the fact that were pretty much the only audience members without kids. I’m fairly positive that Derek had a good time but he’s not as expressive as I am so sometimes it’s hard to tell.

Outside of the theater

Inside the theater

After the play, we went to a new-to-us restaurant. We got there just in time: when we walked in, there was only one table seated but the place filled up a few minutes later. And then the snow started falling. It was pretty to watch from the window, but we knew it was worse by my apartment, so we headed home.We ended up following a plow for most of the drive, so the roads were clear (for us at least).

And then Derek got an unexpected and unwanted birthday gift: power outage. Good thing I gave him a cozy-but-in-a-manly-way bathrobe as a present so he could wrap up in that while I lit tealight candles all around the apartment. We planned to watch a movie and lounge on the couch for the rest of the evening, but instead we laid in bed until we were warm and then fell asleep. Lame.

So it wasn’t the birthday I had planned for him but we made the best of it. I still owe him some carrot cupcakes, though, since I couldn’t bake on Sunday.

Derek, I love you. Thank you for sharing the last year with me. I hope 32 is your best year yet.

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 147 other followers

