What’s Cooking: Zucchini and Potato Bake

This recipe has quickly become one of my favorites: it’s easy, it’s filling and it tastes so good. The only (minor) drawback is that it takes a little while to bake so it’s best suited for a night when I come straight home work. Oh and it also doesn’t photograph that well. I promise it tastes a million times better than it looks.

You can mix in a variety of veggies; this time I added some baked kale and some shredded carrots. I’m positive it would be delish with eggplant but I haven’t gotten around to trying that yet.

Shopping List
1 zucchini
2 medium potatoes (or one large one)
baked kale–I used a whole cookie-sheet’s worth
1/2 cup shredded carrots
2 cloves of garlic, minced
3/4 cup bread crumbs
1/4 cup olive oil
salt, pepper, italian seasoning, red pepper flakes

DISCLAIMER: I didn’t measure anything so this is just my best guess on the portions. Feel free to use whatever looks good to you.

Step by Step

If you want baked kale in your dish, start by tearing some large pieces and arranging on a cookie sheet. Bake at 350 while you prep the zucchini and potato.

Now, the hardest and most time consuming step (and really, it’s not even that hard): slice the zucchini and potato into the thinnest slices you can manage. Consistency is key here so that everything bakes evenly. But I can tell you that if you accidentally cut a few pieces too fat, it will still be ok. Once you’ve got errthang sliced, take the kale out of the oven and turn the oven up to 400.

Toss the zucchini and potato slices, the garlic and the carrot shreds into a big bowl. Add some olive oil and mix with your hands to coat everything. Now sprinkle in your salt, pepper and other seasonings. Follow your heart here, there’s no right answer. I like a little spice so I added red pepper flakes. Oh, also add about half of the breadcrumbs here too. Mix again.

Now lay the kale chips in a baking dish (you’ll probably need something around the size of 13×9) and add the other veggies on top. Arrange so that some of the kale is at the top–it will get extra crunchy and delicious when it bakes. Cover the whole thing with some more breadcrumbs and drizzle with a little more olive oil.

Pop the dish in the oven, uncovered, and let it be for about 50 minutes. It should starting to brown on top (and smell really really really good) by the time you take it out. Let it cool just a bit and then enjoy.

3 responses to “What’s Cooking: Zucchini and Potato Bake

  1. Mego

    Sounds delicious! I think I’ll try it soon. I’ve been trying to cook a lot more often. We just realized we’re poor, and there’s no good reason to go out to eat anyway. I’ve even been cooking vegan! Last night we had bean enchiladas (with no cheese), and the other day I made a delicious butternut squash soup. Gonna have to give this one a whirl…

    • arikkahall

      Oh good! I talked to Doug over the weekend and he said he’s been having a hard time figuring out what to eat, so I promised to share more recipes to give you two some ideas. Mmm..butternut squash soup. I need to make that soon. Too bad we can’t just swap dishes. I really really wish you guys lived down the street still.

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 147 other followers

