Honey Face

Now that I’m paying more attention to the foods I put in my body, I’ve started to become more aware of the stuff I’m using on my body. I don’t like the idea of using chemical-ridden products on my skin. Plus, I’ve struggled with acne for several years so I hoped that going all-natural would help clear my skin. I did some research and came up with a new skin care routine:

Morning-

Apply a small amount of raw honey (think dime-sized) to wet hands and smooth over face. Let it sit for 5-10 (if you have the time) and then rinse with warm water. I was surprised at how easily the honey rinses off. And it’s not nearly as sticky as I expected (but that’s why I apply with wet hands—the water cuts the stickiness).

Night-

Start by rinsing your face with warm water. (I wear eye makeup every day so I try to rinse as much off as possible before washing my face.) Then pour a small amount of raw honey into your palm and top with a couple shakes of baking soda. Stir the two together and then gently rub onto your face in circular motions. Rinse with warm water. If your eye makeup isn’t completely washed off, then use a tiny bit of olive oil on a cotton pad to remove what’s left. Finish by toning with diluted apple cider vinegar (3 parts water, 1 part vinegar). The vinegar removes any traces of baking soda that would otherwise dry out your skin. It kinda smells (Derek hates it) but it is really good for your skin so I’m willing to deal.

It’s been over two months and my skin has never looked better. And I’m saving money because I always have these ingredients on hand, so I’m not paying extra for fancy face wash. If you’re looking for a natural way to wash your face or have blemishes that don’t respond well to store-bought treatments, I highly recommend this method.

One response to “Honey Face

  1. Pingback: Cornstarch Face « From the Desk of Arikka Hall

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 147 other followers

