Cornstarch Face

Remember when I told you all about my natural skincare routine? Well, I’ve stumbled upon another gem. And as the title suggests, it involves cornstarch.

But first a little back story….

I prefer mineral makeup to liquid foundation for a few reasons: 1) I find it easier to blend, 2) I find it easier to match my skin tone and 3) I like that it doesn’t look too makeup-y. And now that I’ve found an all natural, organic version*, 4) I like that it’s not full of chemicals or other junk that’s not good for me. However, I noticed that it was wearing off throughout the day. So I started researching makeup primers. I wanted something that worked really well, wasn’t too expensive and wasn’t full of above-mentioned chemicals. Turns out, it’s pretty difficult to get those prerequisites in-sync.

Somewhere along the way I read a comment or something that mentioned cornstarch as a primer. Say what?! My interest was piqued. Mostly because I already had some at home so it meant I wouldn’t have to run to the store to test it. I read a few articles that gave mixed reviews but I figured it was worth a shot since it’d be free to try it. And if it didn’t work, I could return to my search for a conventional product.

But it did work.

And it’s crazy cheap.

And it’s not full of yucky stuff.

My mind was blown.

Plus, the application is simple–especially if you’re already wearing mineral foundation. I tap a small amount (like dime sized) into the cap from an old mineral foundation pot. Then I swirl a kabuki into the cap and buff it onto my face (just like the Bare Mineral commercials). You may have to rub it in a little more with your finger tips if you used too much. Or if your skin isn’t as pale as mine and it’s a little more obvious. A small inconvenience, really, for something that works so well. It keeps my makeup on my face all day–until I decide I’ve had enough and then it washes off easily with honey and baking soda.

Pretty neat, right? Now go try it out yourself. You know you wanna.

*If you tell Afterglow I sent you, we both get presents.

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 146 other followers

