What’s Cooking: Coconut Banana Pancakes

It’s been awhile since I shared a recipe, so I thought I’d try to make it up to you by posting a delicious breakfast recipe that’s perfect for the weekend. I just whipped up these pancakes this morning–I’m still eating them as I post this–but they were too good to keep to myself.

Shopping List

1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1/2 tbsp baking powder

1 tbsp flax meal

1/4 cup rolled oats

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

a dash of salt

1/2 cup coconut milk

1 teaspoon maple syrup

1 well mashed banana

a handful of walnut pieces

coconut oil for greasing the pan

Step by Step

Begin heating skillet to medium heat.

While that’s warming up, stir all the dry ingredients together in a large bowl. In a small bowl, mash the banana then add the coconut milk and syrup. Pour the wet into the dry and stir until combined. Add walnuts.

Once the pan is hot, spread a tiny bit of coconut oil to prevent the pancakes from sticking. Scoop spoonfuls of the batter into the pan and spread it out a little so they cook all the way through. Flip after a few minutes until they are brown on both sides. Top with sliced bananas, walnuts and maple syrup.

This recipe makes enough for two people (but if Derek doesn’t wake up soon, I might eat them all myself).

Happy Weekending!

One response to “What’s Cooking: Coconut Banana Pancakes

  1. They look very tasty indeed. There is nothing like something different and tasty to spice the weekend breakfasting.
    Best,
    Conor

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 146 other followers

