What’s Cooking: Berry Shortcake

I’ve been craving strawberry shortcake for a few weeks–every time I buy a carton of strawberry I promise myself that I will save enough to make it. But then I eat them all before I get around to it.

So for our date night, I improvised and used some mixed berries that I had in the freezer. The results were delicious. Derek even claimed it was “the best dessert ever”.

Shopping List

For the biscuits
*adapted from The Happy Herbivore cookbook
1 cup whole wheat flour
2 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 ripe banana
1/2 cup non-dairy milk

for the berry mix
1-2 cups frozen berries
1-2 tablespoons sugar

for the whipped cream
1 can full fat coconut milk
powdered sugar to taste

Be warned–the whipped cream needs to be refrigerated overnight and the berries can take several hours to thaw, so plan ahead.

To make the whipped cream, pour the coconut milk into a tupperware container (I left out the runny part because I wanted it thick) and leave in the fridge overnight or until it becomes very thick. Whip in some powdered sugar to taste. If you don’t have a big sweet tooth, you could leave it out all together.

For the berries, simply toss the frozen berries with some sugar and leave out until they are room temperature and juicy.

The biscuits are just as easy. Preheat the oven to 425. Mix the dry ingredients together. Then stir in the banana. This might take a little muscle if you’re doing it by hand. Stir until little balls form. Then mix in the non-dairy milk until combined. Plop by the spoonful onto a greased cookie sheet and bake for about 10 minutes.

When everything is ready, pile the berries and whipped cream on top of the biscuit and dig in. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 146 other followers

