What’s Cooking: Banana Zucchini Bread

It finally cooled down enough for me to test out the oven in the new apartment. I’ve been craving zucchini bread for a couple of weeks and thanks to a generous co-worker, I had plenty of zucchini to spare. But I also had some overripe bananas that promised to be a tasty banana bread. So I decided to combine the two. And the result was pretty much perfect. I highly recommend you try these ASAP.

Shopping List

1 cup grated zucchini
2 over-ripe bananas, mashed
just less than 1/2 cup oil
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 tablespoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 tablespoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
1/2 cup golden raisins

Step by Step

First, grate your zucchini. Then preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease either a bread pan or a muffin tin. Mash bananas in a large bowl and add zucchini, oil, sugar and vanilla. Stir until well mixed.

Next, add the flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Finally, stir in the walnuts and raisins. If making bread, bake for 1 hour. If making muffins, bake for about 35 minutes. (I was hungry so I went with muffins.)

Let cool just enough that you don’t burn your mouth as you devour this delicious hybrid. Mmmm…

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 146 other followers

