Mego’s Bachelorette

Thursday morning I returned home from a month-long trip to the West Coast. Oh man was it a blast. I’ve got a lot to catch up on, so I’m going to break it down into a few posts. The primary purpose of the trip was to see my brother marry his sweetheart–so I’ll start with this first wedding activity: the bachelorette party.

2013-08-09 09.41.35

We may have been a small group, but it was still a really great night. We started at Mego’s apartment with some drinks and primping. Then we headed downtown for dinner, more drinks and dancing. The night started a little late, so our first choice restaurant didn’t work out. Since we were all starving, we went to the next closest place open. I don’t even remember what it was called, but I do remember that the Seattle Police Pipes and Drums band came into the restaurant and played two (or three?) songs. And then a little while later, the restaurant was invaded by clowns. I wish I was kidding.

After scarfing down our food, we started walking towards the dance club that Megan had chosen. Along the way, we saw a bar with a sign for half-price drinks so naturally we had to stop. Since it was two-for-one, we each had two shots and then continued our walk. We got to the dance club two minutes before 11pm–which is when the free cover ended. The woman at the door tried to say that the cover charge began at 10:30pm, but I sweet talked us in for free. ๐Ÿ™‚

The club ended up being really small–and mostly full of men who weren’t into dancing–but we still had a good time. We had a champagne toast, did another shot and danced for a little while. When we had all had enough, we headed back to Megan’s favorite neighborhood bar for some karaoke.

At that point, I was exhausted. I wish I could blame it on the time difference, but at that point, I had been on the West Coast for two weeks. The truth is, I’m getting old.

After Megan sang, I convinced the group that walking up the enormous hill to her apartment was a terrible idea so we grabbed a cab to take us home. We got home just as Doug was getting off work, so Megan told him all about our night while the rest of us got ready for bed. The night ended with a 2am showing of Pitch Perfect but, in my usual fashion, I only stayed awake for about 10 minutes.

The next morning, Megan, her sister Tess and I went into Ballard for manis and pedis. The women at the salon were super sweet and it was a really relaxing morning/early afternoon. We finished up our girl-time with some sandwiches and a quick walk through the Farmer’s Market before parting ways. It was the perfect ending to her bachelorette.

Stay tuned, the wedding recap is coming next. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Choose a Topic

Give me your email and I'll make sure you know any time there is a new post.

Join 147 other followers

